Board of Supervisors
Charlotte County is governed by an elected Board of Supervisors representing seven election districts, with one board member elected from each district. The Board's regularly scheduled meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 1:30 pm in the Board of Supervisors Room of the County Administration Building, 250 LeGrande Avenue, Suite A, Charlotte Court House, Virginia.

The Board of Supervisors is the legislative policy making body for the County. It considers and adopts policies regarding administration, finance, technology, economic development, health, planning, public safety, childcare, recreation, sanitation and waste removal. The Board appropriates funds for all functions, including the schools, Social Services, Law Enforcement and operation of courts. Staggered board terms have been established to insure some degree of continuing experience on the Board.

Gary D. Walker Garland "Butch" Hamlett, Jr. Robert L. Shook

Gary D. Walker

Warren E. Weston

Garland H. "Butch"
Hamlett, Jr.


Robert L. "Butch"
Shook, Jr.

Term Expires 12/31/19 Term Expires 12/31/17 Term Expires 12/31/19 Term Expires 12/31/17
County Seat
 Oak (B)
Drakes Branch
Nancy R. Carwile

Nancy R. Carwile

Haywood J. Hamlet

Royal S. Freeman

Term Expires 12/31/19 Term Expires 12/31/17 Term Expires 12/31/19
Cullen / Red House
Aspen / Phenix
Bacon / Saxe